Research Project ESIMAS

The research project ESIMAS aimed to develop an innovative detection and expert system for the monitoring of road tunnels in real time.

On German federal highways currently 108 tunnels with a length of over 400 meters are in operation and continuously monitored in order to guarantee a sufficient safety level. For this reason, these tunnels are equipped with a variety of sensors whose data is transmitted to tunnel control centres. Based on this incoming information, several tunnels are monitored and controlled by the tunnel control centre personnel (tunnel operators). Expert systems to assist the operators in the tunnel control centres will be of high importance in the future for the consolidation and interpretation of the single information and derived preventive and mitigating actions.

The main goal of the project ESIMAS was the development and demonstration of a flexible, modular and innovative expert system which provides high quality data for a real time safety analysis and risk assessment through the development and enhancement of new and existing detection systems. It also derives real time recommendations for measures and actions from the obtained data and processes them for the tunnel operators. Safety of road tunnels and their users is improved through a reliable and time effective detection of incidents.

ESIMAS was a joint project funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) in context of the 3rd transport research programme “Mobility and Transport Technology”. The project was supported by the project executing organization Mobility and Transport Technologies of the TÜV Rheinland Group (PT MVt). The project started on 1 December 2011 and was accomplished 31 May 2015.

Forschungsprojekt ESIMAS

Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ESIMAS war die Entwicklung eines innovativen Detektions- und Expertensystems für die Überwachung von Straßentunneln.

In Deutschland sind derzeit 108 Tunnel an Bundesfernstraßen mit einer Länge über 400 Metern in Betrieb, die zur Gewährleistung der Sicherheit permanent überwacht werden. Hierzu sind diese Tunnel mit einer Vielzahl von Detektoren ausgestattet, deren Meldungen an Tunnelleitzentralen übermittelt werden. Anhand dieser Meldungen erfolgt dort die Überwachung und Steuerung mehrerer Tunnel durch Betriebspersonal (Operatoren) im Betriebs- und Störungsfall. Zur Zusammenführung und Interpretation der bereitgestellten Einzelmeldungen und hieraus abgeleiteter präventiver und ausmaßmindernder Handlungen kommt zukünftig Expertensystemen zur Unterstützung der Operatoren in den Leitzentralen hohe Bedeutung zu.







Gesamtziel des Projekts ESIMAS war die Entwicklung und die Demonstration eines flexiblen, modularen und innovativen Expertensystems, welches durch die Entwicklung neuer und Weiterentwicklung vorhandener Detektionssysteme qualitativ hochwertige Daten für eine in Echtzeit erfolgende Sicherheitsanalyse und Risikobewertung bereitstellt und hieraus ebenfalls in Echtzeit Maßnahmen- und Handlungsempfehlungen für Tunneloperatoren zur Verfügung stellt. Durch eine zuverlässige und rechtzeitige Ereigniserkennung sollte die Sicherheit von Straßentunneln und ihrer Nutzer verbessert werden.



ESIMAS wurde als Kooperationsprojekt durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) im Rahmen des 3. Verkehrs-forschungsprogramms „Mobilität und Verkehrstechnologien“ gefördert. Das Projekt wurde begleitet durch den Projektträger Mobilität und Verkehrstechnologien der TÜV Rheinland Group (PT MVt). Die Laufzeit des Projekts erstreckte sich vom 01. Dezember 2011 bis zum 31. Mai 2015.